Austin Bowl-O-Rama, located at 517 S. Lamar (at Barton Springs Road), was owned by two former UT football stars: Pro Football Hall of Famer Bobby Lane and Rooster Andrews. (Rooster also gained notoriety for his sporting goods store within which he developed the university's iconic Longhorn logo and changed the uniform color to burnt orange in 1961).
The Golden Age of bowling in America was from 1940 to 1960. The sport’s massive popularity increased over these decades and became a billion-dollar industry. The number of bowling alleys in the U.S. peaked at about 12,000 in the mid-1960s. Austin, TX was blessed with numerous family-oriented bowling opportunities, not the least of which was the Austin Bowl-O-Rama, represented here.
Austin's longest-lived bowling enter, opened in 1958, and was originally named "Bobby Lane's Bowl-O-Rama", billing itself as "Wholesome Recreation for the Entire Family," with Air conditioning, 32 lanes and automatic pinsetters (they used to be set by hand)
Alas, the Bowl-O-Rama ended its run in 1986 when new owners moved it further south and changed its name to Tanglewood Bowl.
Get a matching mug here. View our entire AUSTIN IS COOL collection.
(A portion of the proceeds of each sale of Austin-related merchandise helps to fight homelessness in Austin through donations to the following Austin organizations we support: Caritas of Austin, Front Steps and Sunrise Homeless Navigation Center.)
.: 100% Airlume combed and ringspun cotton (fiber content may vary for different colors)
.: Light fabric (4.2 oz/yd² (142 g/m²))
.: Retail fit
.: Tear away label
.: Runs true to size
|Sleeve length, in||8.9||9.18||9.45||9.73||10||10.4|